Vista Service Pack 1

**Note** See forum below for computer tech support
Access: Guests, Registered Users, Members
Forum rules
Posts from Unregistered or New users will not appear until moderator approval in this section. Allow upto 24 hours before trying to post again.
Locked
User avatar
Theodora
Treasurer
Treasurer
Posts: 2576
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Vista Service Pack 1

Post by Theodora » Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:42 pm

okay, i don't seem to be able to install this, it just doesn't come up in windows update, having check the FAQs the most likely problem is a driver conflict (it's supposed to recognise certain drivers that'll give it trouble and so not offer the SP, having checked though i'm pretty sure i have none of the offending drivers

anyone got any other ideas of what i may be doing wrong or how i can check if it is a driver issue (if it's not installing because there's a disallowed driver installed, there must be a way for it to tell me which one is giving it the problem)
Image

fleurbrawl
Point Commander
Point Commander
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:29 am
Location: Hayling Island

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by fleurbrawl » Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:26 am

I couldn't install it either, but then I'm still on XP :)
Mind that bus... What bus??? *splat*

Image

User avatar
AmigaFan2003
Sakhan
Sakhan
Posts: 5617
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:56 pm

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by AmigaFan2003 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:03 am

Have you tried the redist versions (i.e. standalone - not windows update)?

32bit
http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/m ... dd4529.exe

64bit
http://www.download.windowsupdate.com/m ... a8f4b9.exe
Image

Crank
BF2 Server Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by Crank » Wed Apr 16, 2008 8:16 am

Hi Theo my desktop has the same problem.

Do you have any Creative hardware - Soundblaster etc? I do, and I'm thinking perhaps that's why it isn't available. My laptop installed it just fine.

User avatar
AmigaFan2003
Sakhan
Sakhan
Posts: 5617
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 8:56 pm

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by AmigaFan2003 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:18 am

Do you have any Creative hardware - Soundblaster etc? I do, and I'm thinking perhaps that's why it isn't available.
Creative do have notoriously squiffy drivers.
Image

User avatar
Theodora
Treasurer
Treasurer
Posts: 2576
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 2:24 pm
Location: Manchester UK
Contact:

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by Theodora » Wed Apr 16, 2008 4:43 pm

crank, my soundcard is from creative, i've updated to the latest drivers 03/03/08 but no joy

amiga, if i DL and install the standalone file what could happen? is it likely to cause problems or would it just not install?
Image

Crank
BF2 Server Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Vista Service Pack 1

Post by Crank » Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:44 pm

Theo - my understanding is that it will update just fine, the possible device/driver conflict is just stopping SP1 being offered to you through automatic updates. I guess potential problems after installation all depend on what is causing the incompatibility.

I've read MS are in contact with software developers and they're updating their drivers etc. in preparation for the official SP1 release (when it starts downloading and requesting installation without your input) so it may just be a matter of time.

Also I have the latest Creative drivers too, though I can't think of much else that could be causing this. My desktop has next to nothing installed on it right now. There's a list of things which aren't currently compatible here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948343

Locked

Return to “Help and Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests